Welcome to the Governors’ section of the website! We are lucky to have a Governing body who regularly visit the school.

Our Governors in May 2018 (Missing Julian Baker and Charlie Skeels)

This is the page to come for news about the governing body and it will be updated regularly. Click here for our Governors Newsletter.

Our school Governors are made up of a range of different people. Some people are members of the general community of Totton and Calmore such as Dave Hills and Julian Baker. Others are parent governors such as Kevin Curtis and Jo Dorricott and some have come to join us by registering with the Local Authority such as Jim McGilvery and Lief Keay-Chaplin.

We do have a place on the Governing body for a staff representative as Denise Wiltshire who has been a staff governor for 6 years has felt it was time to leave and do other things so we all said a big “thank you” to her and she was presented with a gift and flowers from the school in an assembly.

Governors come into school regularly. Mr Kevin Curtis, Mrs Melanie Price and Mr Julian Baker visited us to explain to the school in assembly about the role of a school governor and what they have to do as a Governor. We asked lots of questions.

We are very fortunate to have committed, enthusiastic Governors. Dave Hills, Chair of Governors received a certificate and badge from HCC for 8 years of service as a governor.





We are a very lucky school because our Governors visit regularly to see for themselves our school in action.

Mr Julian Baker has been into school already. He conducted a Health and Safety inspection of the school with our caretaker Mr Witcomb. Then he stayed for lunch and talked to the children about their learning and life in school.

Lianne Appleby has given up being a Governor. She has been on our Governing Body for 8 years and we thanked her for her hard work for our school in assembly. Tracey Mitchell of our Pre-school has taken Lianne’s place as a staff Governor.

I’d like to share with you a brief description of the role of the governing body and what we do:

  • We help the school to set high standards by planning for the school’s future and setting targets for school improvement
  • We keep the pressure up on school improvement
  • We are a critical friend to the school, offering support and advice
  • We help the school respond to the needs of parents and the community
  • We make the school accountable to the public for what it does
  • We work with the school on planning, developing policies and keeping the school under review
  • We exercise our responsibilities and powers in partnership with the headteacher and staff
  • We regularly visit the school and talk to pupils to find out about their learning and teachers to discuss subject areas and development plans.


  • We don’t intervene in the day-to-day management of the school (unless there are weaknesses in the school, when the GB has a duty to take action.)

We also form part of the school’s senior management team focussing on monitoring and raising standards of achievement, establishing high expectations and promoting effective teaching and learning, so that all pupils achieve their best.

Each governor brings to the body their own unique set of skills and experience and we’re always looking to recruit new governors. If you feel that you’d like to join us in making a difference to our children’s lives then please pop into school for a chat.


Dave Hills (Chair of Governors)

Our Governors

Type Name Position and responsibility
Community Mr Dave Hills Chair of Governors/ICT Governor
Community Mr Jim McGilvery Vice Chair of Governors/Chair of Finance & Staffing/Pupil Premium/Attendance Governor
Community Mrs Tracey Mitchell Early Years Governor
Community Ms Lief Keay-Chaplin
Community Mrs Trudi Archer SEND Governor
Community Dr Chris Prior Chair of Curriculum & Welfare/Safeguarding Governor
Co-opted Mr Julian Baker Health & Safety/Pupil Voice Governor
Parent Mrs Charlie Skeels Literacy Governor
Parent Mr Kevin Curtis Maths Governor
Parent Mrs Joanne Dorricott Assessment Governor
Parent Mrs Melanie Price SMSC Governor
Staff Mrs Sarah Willes Sports Funding
Staff Mrs Nicola Cowcher Head teacher


Pay Committee: Julian Baker, Jim McGilvery, Melanie Price, Kevin Curtis

Finance, Property & Staffing: Jim McGilvery, Melanie Price, Kevin Curtis, Julian Baker, Dave Hills, Trudi Archer, Nicky Cowcher

Curriculum & Welfare: Chris Prior, Charlie Skeels, Jo Dorricott, Lief Keay-Chaplin, Dave Hills, Sarah Willes, Nicky Cowcher

Governor Attendance 2017/18
  Full Governing Body
Name Number of meeting the governor should have attended Number of meetings attended Attendance rate (%)
Tracy Mitchell 5 5 100.00%
Julian Baker 5 4 80.00%
Christopher Prior 5 4 80.00%
Nicky Cowcher 5 5 100.00%
Dave Hills 5 5 100.00%
Jim McGilvery 5 4 80.00%
Charlie Skeels 5 4 80.00%
Melanie Price 5 4 80.00%
Kevin Curtis 5 4 80.00%
Sarah Willes 5 3 60.00%
Joanne Dorricott 5 4 80.00%
Lief Keay-Chaplin 5 2 40.00%
Trudi Archer 3 3 100.00%


Name Pecuniary Interest Disclosed Date of Signing Attendance at Full Governors Meetings 2017/18
Tracy Mitchell Supervisor (Caterpillers Pre School) 23/05/2018 5 out of 5 meetings attended.   100%
Julian Baker Calmore Junior School Governor 27/06/2018 4 out of 5 meetings attended.   80%
Christopher Prior None 23/05/2018 4 out of 5 meetings attended.   80%
Nicky Cowcher HT 21/05/2018 5 out of 5 meetings attended.   100%
Dave Hills None 23/05/2018 5 out of 5 meetings attended.   100%
Jim McGilvery None 23/05/2018 4 out of 5 meetings attended.   80%
Charlie Skeels None 27/06/2018 4 out of 5 meetings attended.   80%
Melanie Price None 15/05/2018 4 out of 5 meetings attended.   80%
Kevin Curtis None 23/05/2018 4 out of 5 meetings attended.   80%
Sarah Willes Teacher (Calmore Infant School) 01/06/2018 3 out of 5 meetings attended.   60%
Trudi Archer Grandparent (child in school) 23/05/2018 3 out of 3 meetings attended.   80%
Lief Keay-Chaplin None 23/05/2018 3 out of 5 meetings attended.   40%
Joanne Dorricott None 23/05/2018 4 out of 5 meetings attended.   80%